(NEW YORK, NY) – THE CONTORTIONIST have revealed first week sales of their newest record, “INTRINSIC” released last week. The band has sold 3,644 copies in the US, which is more than SEVEN times what their prior record, “EXOPLANET” had done in its first week of sales.Landing at number #107 on the Billboard Top 200, #15 on the Hard Music Chart and #3 on the New Artist Chart, this is the most successful first week the band has had to date. Congratulations to our partners at Good Fight Music and our friends at Strong Management. This shows eOne’s commitment to new and upominig artists,” says eOne VP of Metal and Rock, Scott Givens.


“INTRINSIC” was released last week to much critical praise, the following quotes speak for themselves.


“The band’s ability to balance chaos and solemnity have never been better. Breaking from soft, ethereal passages into grueling, mosh-ready grooves at the drop of a hat.”


“The Contortionist have mastered the perfect balance of deathcore and prog with just enough weird atmospheric noise to put them ahead of the pack.” Exclaim!


“This is certainly one of the most exciting metal albums of the year, and it shows that The Contortionist is definitely going places in the very near future.” Metal Injection


“Make no mistake here – ‘Intrinsic’ puts The Contortionist at the top of the list for the future of prog-metal, if not the genre’s present as well.”


“The Contortionist are, without a doubt, one of the most exciting young prog-metal bands on the scene today.”MetalSucks


“The Contortionist have succeeded in pulling away from the pack to secure their spot as one of the strongest progressive acts around. Intrinsic has all the potential to become a prog classic, and by all rights should.” 9/10 – Mind Equals Blown


“It is not a record to put on while studying or in the car, but on a good stereo or set of headphones and really kick back and get immersed. It truly deserves your full attention, and so does this band.”



THE CONTORTIONIST is: Robby Baca (Guitar), Jonathan Carpenter (Vocals, Keyboards), Joey Baca (Percussion), Cameron Maynard (Guitar), Christopher Tilley (Bass Guitar).