ALBUM REVIEW: Youth In Revolt | The Broken | Outerloop Records

Written By:  Michael and Terri Gonzales

They say that all great things must come to an end, yet with every ending there is a new beginning. This could not be more true in regards to Youth In Revolt. Flashback to 2015 when Youth In Revolt were one of the biggest up and coming bands in the scene having been on a handful of tours supporting some big name bands and a summer stint on Vans Warped Tour under their belts to name just a few of their accomplishments, but in the blink of an eye things had come to a screeching halt. Without going into the specifics, ultimately multiple members chose to depart from the band leaving bassist and backup vocalist Kenny Torres and lead guitarist Alex Ramos as the sole remaining members of the band left to determine the unforeseen fate of Youth In Revolt.


Fast forward to fall 2016 and Youth In Revolt announced their return with a brand new lineup and a cover of the Ellie Goulding hit “Something In The Way You Move” showcasing the talents and potential of the newly reformed group. Lead vocalist Tanner Allen along with drummer Arvin Sarathy were recruited from the band Brightwell and Chris Coletti came on board to handle rhythm guitar duties. Shortly after their return, Youth In Revolt announced they would be releasing their debut full length album “The Broken” via Outerloop Records on February 17, 2017.


Fans went absolutely nuts when the news originally dropped about the new lineup and album, and now the time has come as “The Broken” is available today and it surely will not disappoint. The album kicks things off with “The Noise” and is nonstop from there on out. It is quite obvious from the start of the album that Youth In Revolt have maintained and also reinvented their original dynamic that defined them in the first place. Their music maintains a blend of multiple genres resulting in a musical harmony that has attracted fans from all across the board.


The Broken” showcases the true diversity of Youth In Revolt with a a plethora of heavy hitting tracks such as “The Broken”, “Not Giving Up” alongside the reworked originals “There For You” and “Love is a Liar’s Game”. There is also the opposite end of the spectrum with some acoustic style ballads such as “Brisbane” and “Only One”, and even some in between with upbeat anthems such as “I’m Not Scared”, “Alright”, and “Shuffle” and more. Suffice to say there is a large blend of musical styles present that all blend together harmoniously.


The Broken” clearly signifies the return of Youth In Revolt and it shows that they mean business with such a wide range of tracks that cohesively blend together. This is merely just the beginning of what is yet to come from Youth In Revolt as they have shown their dedication and perseverance to their art where the term dedication clearly seems like an understatement to describe the devotion Youth In Revolt have put into this album.


Once again the old adage that with every end there is a new beginning could not be more true in regard to Youth In Revolt. It is not often for bands to pick up the pieces and rebuild themselves after such a massive departure as Youth In Revolt did, but they most certainly have and surely more determined and driven than ever. Be sure to pick up a copy of “The Broken” today as it surely will not disappoint. Also do yourself the favor and catch them on their current tour now as they will only be moving onto bigger and better venues and tours from this point forward. Stay up to date with Youth In Revolt’s latest news, tour announcements, and more through the links below.


Youth in Revolt: The Broken Tracklisting
1. Noise
2. Love is a Liar’s Game
3. Not Giving Up
4. The Broken
5. Brisbane
6. Don’t Wait for Me
7. There for You
8. I’m Not Scared
9. Alright
10. Sleep
11. Only One